I-SENSE | Institute for Sensing and Embedded Network Systems Engineering

Marine and Environment Faculty

 
Edgar An, Ph.D.
Edgar An Engineering & Computer Science
Ocean & Mechanical Engineering
Professor
561.297.2792
Faculty Website
pan@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Underwater Robotics, Artificial Intelligence

John Baldwin, Ph.D.
John Baldwin Science
Biology
Associate Professor
954.236.1151
Faculty Website
jbaldwin@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Population Genetics / Conservation

William Baxley, M.A., PE
William Baxley SNMREC
Chief Engineer
561.297.2391
wbaxley1@fau.edu
 

Brian Benscoter, Ph.D.
Brian Benscoter Science
Biology/Environmental Science
Assistant Professor
954.236.1141
Faculty Website
bbenscot@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Ecosystem Ecology

Pierre-Philippe Beaujean, Ph.D.
Pierre-Philippe Beaujean Engineering & Computer Science
Ocean and Mechanical Engineering
Professor
561.297.5345
Faculty Website
pbeaujea@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Signal Processing, Sonar Systems Design, Communication Navigation Systems, Transducer Design

Laurent Cherubin, Ph.D.
Laurent Cherubin FAU Harbor Branch
Ocean Modeling and Bio-physical processes
Associate Research Professor
772.242.2314
Faculty Website
lcherubin@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Ocean Modeling & Bio-physical Processes

Anni Dalgleish, Ph.D.
Anni Dalgleish FAU Harbor Branch
Ocean and Engineering Technology
Assistant Research Professor
772.242.2477
Faculty Website
adalglei@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Adoption of Optical, Laser-based Techniques to Study the Properties of Turbid Media and Flows (i.e., fluorescence, mie scattering, schlieren, absorption spectroscopy, and acousto-optic methods)

Fraser Dalgleish, Ph.D.
Fraser Dalgleish FAU Harbor Branch
Ocean Engineering & Technology
Associate Research Professor
PHONE
Faculty Website
fdalglei@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Underwater Remote Sensing

Megan Davis, Ph.D.
Megan Davis FAU Harbor Branch
Administration & Operations
Interim Executive Director
772.242.2298
Faculty Website
mdavi105@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Development of Aquaculture Species for Food and Stock Enhancement

Manhar Dhanak, Ph.D.
Manhar Dhanak Engineering and Computer Science
OME/SeaTech
Professor & Director
954.924.7242
Faculty Website
dhanak@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Hydrodynamics/Autonomous Vehicles

Nurgun Erdol, Ph.D.
Nurgun Erdol Engineering & Computer Science
CEECS/COECS
Department Chair and Professor
561.702.0476
Faculty Website
erdol@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Signal Processing

Esther Guzman, Ph.D.
Esther Guzman FAU Harbor Branch
Cancer Cell Biology
Associate Research Professor
772.242.2452
Faculty Website
eguzman9@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Cancer Immunology; research focusing on finding marine natural products that have the potential to be novel therapeutics against cancer

Javad Hashemi, Ph.D.
Javad Hashemi Engineering & Computer Science
OME
Department Chair and Professor
561.297.3438
Faculty Website
jhashemi@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Materials

Dennis Hanisak, Ph.D.
Dennis Hanisak FAU Harbor Branch
FAU Harbor Branch Marine Botany
Principal Investigator
772.242.2306
Faculty Website
dhanisak@fau.edu
Research Expertise: IRLO, Water Quality, CIOERT

Mingshun Jiang, Ph.D.
Mingshun Jiang FAU Harbor Branch
Ocean Dynamics & Modelling
Associate Research Professor
772.242.2254
Faculty Website
jiangm@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Ocean Modeling and Observations

Stephen Kajiura, Ph.D.
Stephen Kajiura Science
Biology
Associate Professor
PHONE
Faculty Website
kajiura@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Sensory Biology of Fishes

William Laing
William Laing Division of Research
SNMREC
Energy Systems Engineer
954.205.2250
Faculty Website
wlaing@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Ocean Energy

Brian LaPointe, Ph.D.
Brian LaPointe FAU Harbor Branch
Marine Ecosystem Health
Research Professor
772.242.2276
Faculty Website
blapoin1@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Algal Physiology and Biochemistry, Seagrass and Coral Reef Ecology, Eutrophication, Marine Bioinvasions and Marine Conservation

J. William Louda, Ph.D.
J. William Louda Environmental Biogeochemistry
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Environmental Sciences
Research Professor
561.297.3309
Faculty Website
blouda@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Water Quality (Nutrients), Algal Blooms, Microalgal Community Assessment, Pigment-based Chemotaxonomy of Microalgal Communities

Myeongsub (Mike) Kim, Ph.D.
Myeongsub (Mike) Kim Engineering and Computer Science
Ocean and Mechanical Engineering
Assistant Professor
512.550.1166
Faculty Website
kimm@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Microfluidic Sensors

Peter McCarthy, Ph.D.
Peter McCarthy FAU Harbor Branch
Marine Ecosystem Health
Research Professor
772.242.2632
Faculty Website
pmccart5@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Microbiology

Dan Meeroff, Ph.D.
Dan Meeroff Engineering and Computer Science
Civil, Environmental & Geomatics Engineering
Associate Chair and Professor
561.297.3099
Faculty Website
dmeeroff@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Environmental Engineering, Solid Waste Management, Water Chemistry, Water/Wastewater Treatment Processes, Green Engineering

Gregory O’Corry-Crowe, Ph.D.
Gregory O’Corry-Crowe FAU Harbor Branch
Population Biology & Behavioral Ecology
Associate Research Professor
772.242.2628
Directory Website
gocorryc@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Combining Molecular Genetic Analysis with Field Ecology to study the molecular and behavioral ecology of marine apex predators,the effects of ecosystem and climate change on upper trophic levels

Bing Ouyang, Ph.D.
Bing Ouyang FAU Harbor Branch
Ocean and Engineering Technology
Assistant Research Professor
772.242.2205
Faculty Website
bouyang@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Application of Compressive Sensing Theory in Underwater Imaging Applications, computer vision in underwater laser imaging applications, real-time environmental monitoring and events detection, application of electro-optic imaging numerical model and deconvolution technique in image enhancement and pulse resolution improvements

Colin Polsky, Ph.D.
Colin Polsky Science
Center for Environmental Studies
Director
954.236.1104
Faculty Website
cpolsky@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Environmental Studies

Shirley Pomponi, Ph.D.
Shirley Pomponi FAU Harbor Branch
Marine Biomedical & Biotechnology Research
Research Professor
772.242.2449
Faculty Website
spomponi@fau.edu
 

John Reed, M.Sc.
John Reed FAU Harbor Branch
Marine Ecosystem Health
Research Professor
772.242.2205
Faculty Website
jreed12@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Coral Reef discovery and Conservation

Jim Sullivan, Ph.D.
Jim Sullivan FAU Harbor Branch
Biological Oceanography
jsullivan@fau.edu
 

Michael Twardowski, Ph.D.
Michael Twardowski FAU Harbor Branch
Ocean Engineering and Technology
Research Professor
772.242.2220
Directory Website
mtwardowski@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Optical Sensing Techniques to Study Problems in Imaging, Ocean Color Remote Sensing, Oil Detection, Long-term and Autonomous Monitoring,

Karl Von Ellenrieder, Ph.D.
Karl von Ellenrieder Engineering and Computer Science
Ocean & Mechanical Engineering
Professor and Associate Director of Seatech
561.297.7232
Faculty Website
Ellenrie@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Unmanned Vehicle Systems

Joshua Voss, Ph.D.
Joshua Voss FAU Harbor Branch
Marine Ecosystem Health
Assistant Research Professor
772.242.2538
Faculty Website
jvoss2@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Coral Reef Resources, Tracking and Predicting the Impacts of Coral Stressors on Reef Ecosystems

Paul Wills, Ph.D.
Paul Wills FAU Harbor Branch
Aquaculture
Principal Investigator
772.242.2454
Faculty Website
pwills2@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Aquaculture of Finfish for Food and Stock Enhancement and Development of New Fish Species for Aquaculture

Amy Wright, Ph.D.
Amy Wright Fau Harbor Branch
Natural Products Chemistry
Research Professor
772.242.2459
Faculty Website
awright33@fau.edu
Research Expertise: Marine Natural Products with Potential Use as Human Therapeutic Agents, primarily discovery of compounds with anticancer properties and agents useful against neurodegenerative disease, malaria and tuberculosis

Zhixiao Xie, Ph.D.
Zhixiao Xie Science
Geosciences
Chair, Department of Geosciences and Professor
561.297.2852
Faculty Website
xie@fau.edu
Research Expertise: GIS/Remote Sensing